Status                                                    ·         Can be :

§  UNICAMERAL   {One House }

§  BICAMERAL      {Two House }

·         Bicameral Status : 7 States :  1- Bihar-75, 2-J & K -36, 3-Karnataka -75, 4- Telangana-40, 5-Maharashtra -78, 6-UP -108, 7-Andhra Pradesh -50

·         Legislative Council can be created or abolished on the recommendation of Legislative Assembly.



Status ·         Also known as Upper House. Like Rajya Sabha, it is also a Permanent House (sort of) and cannot be dissolved.


Strength ·         The total strength cannot exceed 1/3rd of the strength of Legislative Assembly, subject to a minimum of 40 members. The strength varies as per the population of State.
Creation and Abolition ·         If the Legislative Assembly passes a resolution for abolishing or creating of the Legislative Council by a majority of the total membership of the assembly and by a majority of not less than two-third of the members present and voting, the Parliament may approve the resolution by a simple majority.

·         A resolution passed by the Legislative Assembly for the creation or abolition of its Council is not binding on the Parliament. The Parliament may or may not approve such a situation.

Tenure ·         6 yrs term with 1/3rd members retiring every two years.
Qualification ·         Same as that of Lok Sabha, except the age which is 30 yrs.
Election ·         One-third of the members are elected by local bodies, one-third by Legislative Assembly, one-twelfth by university graduates of atleast 3 yrs standing, similar proportion by teachers (not less than secondary school) of atleast 3 yrs standing & one-sixth nominated by the Governor from among those persons who distinguish themselves in literature, Vice-chairman among its members. 



Status ·         Also known as lower House, just like the Lok Sabha.
Strength ·         Consists of not more than 500 members & not less than 60 members. The strength varies according to the population of the State concerned. However, the Legislative Assembly of Sikkim has only 32 members.

·         Has a term of 5 yrs but can be dissolved by the Governor earlier. Term can be extended by one year during national emergency. 

Qualification ·         Same as that of Lok Sabha or Legislative Council except that the minimum age is 25 yrs.

·          The Council of Minister is collectively responsible, to the Assembly. The assembly chooses its’ own Speaker & Deputy Speaker who can be removed by Council of Minister. The Chief Minister is the leader of the House.

Powers of State Legislature ·         Can legislate on subject contained in the State List as well as Concurrent List.
Legislature ·         Exercise control over State Council of Minister (can even remove it by passing the no-confidence motion).

·         Participates in the election of the president.

·         Has a share in the Amendment of Constitution as some provisions can be amended after ratification by the legislatures of half of the State.



States/UTs Legislative Assembly Legislative Council States/UTs Legislative Assembly Legislative Council
Andhra Pradesh 175 50 Maharashtra 288 78
Arunachal Pradesh 40 Nil Manipur 60 Nil
Asom 126 Nil Meghalaya 60 Nil
Delhi 70 Nil Mizoram 40 Nil
Bihar 243 75 Nagaland 60 Nil
Jharkhand 81 Nil Odisha 147 Nil
Goa 40 Nil Puducherry 30 Nil
Gujarat 182 Nil Punjab 117 Nil
Haryana 90 Nil Rajasthan 200 Nil
Himachal Pradesh 68 Nil Sikkim 32 Nil
Jammu & Kashmir 87 36 Tamil Nadu 234 Nil
Karnataka 224 75 Telangana 119 40
Kerala 140 Nil Tripura 60 Nil
Madhya Pradesh 230 Nil Uttar Pradesh 404 108
Chhattisgarh 90 Nil Uttarakhand 70 Nil
      West Bengal 294 Nil



Status ·         Each State has a High Court: it is the highest judicial organ of the State.

·         However, there can be a common High Court like Punjab, Haryana & Union Territory of Chandigarh. Presently there are 24 High Court in India.

·         Consists of Chief Justice & other such judges as appointed by the President.

·         The Constitution, unlike in the case of the Supreme Court, does not fix any maximum number of judges for a High Court. (Allahabad High Court has 37 judges while J&K High Court has only 5).

·         A judge of a High Court can be transferred to another High Court without his consent by the President. In this, the Chief Justice of India is also consulted. The opinion provided by him shall have primacy and is binding on the President. 

Appointment of Judges ·         The appointment of Chief Justice made after. Consultation with the Chief Justice of Supreme Court & the Governor of the State by the President. In case of appointment of a Judges, the Chief Justice of the High Court concerned is also consulted in addition to Chief Justice of Supreme Court & Governor of the State concerned.
Qualifications ·         Must be a citizen of India.

·         Should have been an advocate of a High Court or of two such Courts in succession for atleast 10 yrs : or should have held judicial office in India for a period of atleast 10 yrs.

Term & Salary ·         A judge of High Court continues his office till 62 yrs of age. Term can be cut short due to resignation or removal by the President. The Salary of the Chief Justice is Rs. 90,000 per month, while that of other judges is Rs. 80,000 p.m.
Removal ·         The President can remove a judge of High Court only if the Parliament passes the resolution by a 2/3 majority of its members present & voting in each house.

·         The conduct of the judges of the High Court cannot be discussed in Parliament, except on a motion for the removal of a judge.

High Courts in India

High Courts in India


Name Estd. In the year Territorial Jurisdiction Seat
Allahabad 1866 Uttar Pradesh Allahabad (Bench at Lucknow)
Hyderabad 1956 Andhra Pradesh and Telangana Hyderabad
Bombay 1862 Maharashtra, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Goa, Daman and Diu Mumbai ( Bench at Nagpur, Panajiand Aurangabad)
Calcutta 1862 West Bengal and Andaman and Nicobar Kolkata (Circuit Bench at Port Blair)
Delhi 1966 Delhi Delhi
Gauhati 1948 Asom, Nagaland, Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh Guwahati (Bench at Kohima and Circuit Benches at Imphal,Agartala & Shillong)
Gujarat 1960 Gujarat Ahmedabad
Himachal Pradesh 1971 Himachal Pradesh Shimla
J & K 1957 J & K Srinagar and Jammu
Karnataka 1884 Karnataka Bangaluru
Kerala 1956 Kerala and Lakeshadweep Ernakulam
Madhya Pradesh 1956 Madhya Pradesh Jabalpur ( Benches at Gwalior and Indore)
Madras 1862 Tamil Nadu and Puducherry Chennai
Orissa 1948 Odisha Cuttack
Patna 1916 Bihar Patna
Punjab & Haryana 1966 Punjab, Haryana and Chandigarh Chandigarh
Rajasthan 1950 Rajasthan Jodhpur ( Bench at Jaipur)
Sikkim 1975 Sikkim Gangtok
Bilaspur 2000 Chhattisgarh Bilaspur
Nainital 2000 Uttarakhand Nainital
Ranchi 2000 Jharkhand Ranchi
Tripura 2013 Tripura Agartala
Manipur 2013 Manipur Imphal
Meghalaya 2013 Meghalaya Shillong


You can read more about English HERE

You can read more about Logical Reasoning HERE

You can read more of Current Affairs HERE

You can read more of Legal Reasoning HERE.

You can read more of General Knowledge HERE

CLATapult was founded by 7 alumni of NUJS in 2012. It boasts of some fantastic teachers from NUJS (Remember! CLAT Coaching by those who have been there and done that)  and, currently, has 3 centers, 2 catering to the CLAT aspirants from Kolkata and 1 from Bhubaneswar.

Leave A Comment

Please enter your name. Please enter an valid email address. Please enter message.