• The President of India is the supreme commander of the Indian Defence System.
  • The whole administrative control of the Armed forces lies in the Ministry of Defence.
  • Indian Defence System has been divided into three services-Army, Navy and Air Force.
Defence - General Knowledge for CLAT

Defence – General Knowledge for CLAT


  • The Indian Army is organised into seven commands :
  Commands Headquarters
1. Western Command Chandigarh
2. Eastern Command Kolkata
3. Northern Command 56 A. P. O.
4. Southern Command Pune
5. Central Command Lucknow
6. Army Training Command Shimla
7. South Western Command Jaipur


In most of the books, the HQ of training command is given at Mhow (M.P), which is wrong. The HQ of training command is in Shimla.



  • It is organised into seven commands:
Commands Headquarters
1.Western Command New Delhi
2.Central Command Allahabad
3.Eastern Command Shillong
4.South Western Command Jodhpur
5.Training Command Bangaluru
6.Maintenance Command Nagpur
7.Southem Command Thiruvananthapuram



  • It is organised into three commands:
Commands Headquarters
Eastern Command Vishakhapatnam
Southern Command Kochi
Western Command Mumbai



Army Air Force Navy
General Air Chief Marshal Admiral
Lt. General Major General Air Marshal Vice Admiral
Major General Air Vice Marshal Rear Admiral
Brigadier Air Commodore Commodore
Colonel Group Captain Captain
Lt. Colonel Wing Commander Commander
Major Squadron Leader Lt. Commander
Captain Fit. Lieutenant Lieutenant
Lieutenant Flying Officer Sub-Lieutenant



  Agni-I Prithvi-I Nag
Type Surface to Surface Surface to Surface Anti-tank missile
Range 700km 50-150km 3-7km
  Agni-II Prithvi-II Dhanush
Type Surface to Suface Surface to Surface Naval ship launched (variant of Prithvi Missile)
Range 2000km 350km 350km
  Agni-III Prahar Sagarika
Type Surface to Surface Surface to Surface Submarine launched Ballistic missile
Range 3000km 150km 750km
  Agni-IV Aakash Brahmos
Type Surface to Surface Surface to Air Stealth, Supersonic Cruise missile, that can be launched from01Submarine, Ships, Aircraft or Land
Range 4000km 30km 290km
  Agni-V Trishul Shaurya
Type Surface to Surface Surface to Air Surface to Surface
Range 5000km 9km 700km



Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) ·         It was established in 1962, after the Chinese attack.

·         It is basically employed in the Northern borders for monitoring the borders and also to stop smuggling and illegal immigration.

National Security Guards(NSG) ·         It was established in 1984.

·         It has been established to counter the surge of militancy in the country.

·         It is a highly trained force which deals with the militants effectively.

Central Industrial Security Force (CISF) ·         It was set-up in 1969 after the recommendations of Justice B. Mukherji.

·         Its objective is to monitor the industrial complexes of Central Government.


Assam Rifles ·         It was established in 1835 and is the oldest paramilitary force in the country.

·         It main objective is to keep vigilance of international borders in North East and countering insurgency operations in Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Mizoram and Nagaland.

Border Security Force (BSF) ·         It was established in 1965.

·         It keeps a vigil over the international borders against the intrusion in the country.

Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) ·         It was set-up in 1939.

·         Its main objective is to assist the State / Union Territory Police in Maintenance of Law and order.

·         The 88th Battalion of CRPF known as ‘Mahila Battalion’ (commissioned on March 30, 1986) is the world’s first paramilitary force comprising entirely of women

National Cadet Corps (NCC) ·         It was established in 1948.

·         Its main objective is to stimulate interest among the youth in the defence of the country in order to build up a reserve man power to expand armed forces.

Territorial Army (TA) ·         It was established in 1948.

·         It is a voluntary, part-time force (between 18 and years), not professional soldiers, but civilians, who wish to assist in defence of the country.

Home Guards ·         It was established in 1962, to assist the police in maintaining security, to help defence forces and to help local authorities in case of any eventuality.
Coast Guard ·         It was set-up in 1978.

·         Its objective is to protect the maritime and other national interests in the maritime zones on India.

Intelligence Bureau (IB) ·         It was set-up in 1920.

·         Its objective is the collect secret information relating to country’s security.

·         It was originally set-up as Central Special Branch (CSB) in 1987 and renamed IB in 1920.

Central Bureau Of Investigation (CBI) ·         It was established in 1953.

·         Its objective is to investigate cases of misconduct by public servants, cases of cheating, embezzlement and fraud.

·         CBI is also entrusted with the investigation of international crime cases in collaboration with INTERPOL.

National Crime ·         It was established in 1986.
Records Bureau (NCRB) ·         Its objective is to collect crime statistics at the national level, information of inter-state and international criminals to help investigation agencies.
Rapid Action Force (RAF) ·         It was established in 1992.

·         Under the operational command of CRPF.

·         10 battalions of the CRPF have been reoriented for tacking communal riots in the country.


You can read more about English HERE

You can read more about Logical Reasoning HERE

You can read more of Current Affairs HERE

You can read more of Legal Reasoning HERE.

You can read more of General Knowledge HERE


CLATapult was founded by 7 alumni of NUJS in 2012. It boasts of some fantastic teachers from NUJS (Remember! CLAT Coaching by those who have been there and done that)  and, currently, has 2 centers in Kolkata and 1 in Bhubaneswar.

Leave A Comment

Please enter your name. Please enter an valid email address. Please enter message.