The Government of India applauds the achievements of sports-persons and those who train them as well as institutes which promote sports by awarding their endeavor. These awards are meant to inspire them to continue with their brilliant careers and bring pride to the nation. A ceremony was held on 29 August 2015 at the Rashtrapati Bhavan to felicitate individuals and institutions for their sporting prowess.

Let us have a look at the individuals and institutes who were awarded with the National Awards for their sporting talents in the year 2015.


Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2015: Sania Mirza

 Dronacharya Awards 2015

  1. Naval Singh for excellence in sports coaching in Athletics-Para Sports
  2. Anoop Singh for excellence in sports coaching in Wrestling
  3. Harbans Singh for excellence in sports coaching in Athletics (Lifetime)
  4. Swantantar Raj Singh for excellence in sports coaching in Boxing (Lifetime)
  5. Nihar Ameen for excellence in sports coaching in Swimming (Lifetime)

 Arjuna Awards 2015

  1. Naib Subedar Sandeep Kumar for excellence in Archery
  2. R. Poovamma for excellence in Athletics
  3. Kidambi Srikanth Nammalwar for excellence in Badminton
  4. Mandeep Jangra for excellence in Boxing
  5. Rohit Sharma for excellence in Cricket
  6. Dipa Karmakar for excellence in Gymnastic
  7. Sreejesh P.R. for excellence in Hockey
  8. Manjeet Chillar for excellence in Kabaddi
  9. Abhilasha Shashikant Mhatre for excellence in Kabaddi
  10. Sawarn Singh for excellence in Rowing
  11. Anup Kumar Yama for excellence in Roller Skating
  12. Jitu Rai for excellence in Shooting
  13. Sathish Kumar for excellence in Weighlifting
  14. Bajrang for excellence in Wrestling
  15. Babita Kumari for excellence in Wrestling
  16. Yumnam Sanathoi Devi for excellence in Wushu
  17. Sharath M. Gayakwad for excellence in Para-Swimming

 Dhyan Chand Award

  1. Romeo James for excellence in Hockey
  2. Shiv Prakash Mishra for excellence in Tennis
  3. P.P. Nair for excellence in Volleyball

Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award 2014

  1. Arunima Sinha for excellence in Land Adventure
  2. Jot Singh for excellence in Land Adventure
  3. Cdr. Paramvir Singh for excellence in Water Adventure
  4. Col. (Retd.) Satyendra Verma excellence in Air Adventure
  5. (Retd.) Satish Chander Sharma for Life Time Achievement

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy 2014-15: Punjabi University, Patiala for best sports performance at inter-university, national and international competitions

Rashtriya Khel Protsahana Purushkar, 2015

  1. Directorate General of Military Training in the ‘Identification and nurturing of budding /young talent’ category.
  2. Coal India Limited in the ‘Encouragement to sports through Corporate Social Responsibility’ category.
  3. Haryana Police in the ‘Employment of sportspersons and sports welfare measures’
  4. Sports Coaching Foundation, Hyderabad in the ‘Sports for Development’ category.

Leave A Comment

Please enter your name. Please enter an valid email address. Please enter message.