We hope that you have been keeping yourself updated on the latest happenings in the world. While it is necessary for you to keep abreast of the current affairs of the world around you, you must also pay equal attention to static GK. Each year the Government of India awards several individuals for their occupational efforts and for the endeavors that they undertake in their personal capacities, called the National Awards.

Here is a list of important National Awards that the Government of India confers in various fields.

We shall come up with a detailed list of all the National Awardees in the past one year soon, in a subsequent write-up.


Civilian Awards-General

  1. Bharat Ratna
  2. Padma Vibhushan
  3. Padma Bhushan
  4. Padma Shri
  5. Inspired Teacher Award
  6. Sarvottam Jeevan Raksha Padak
  7. Uttam Jeevan Raksha Padak
  8. Bharat Award
  9. Geeta Chopra Award
  10. Bapu Gaidhani Award
  11. General National Bravery Awards
  12. National Child Award for Exceptional Achievement
  13. National Bal Shree Honour
  14. Devi Ahilya Bai Holkar Award
  15. Kannagi Award
  16. Rani Gaidinliu Zeliang Award
  17. Rani Rudramma Devi Award
  18. Rani Lakshmi Bai Award


Military and Police-Awards and Medals

  1. Param Vir Chakra
  2. Maha Vir Chakra
  3. Vir Chakra
  4. Ashok Chakra
  5. Kirti Chakra
  6. Shaurya Chakra
  7. Sena Medal
  8. Vayusena Medal
  9. Nausena Medal
  10. Sarvottam Yudh Seva Medal
  11. Uttam Yudh Seva Medal
  12. Yudh Seva Medal
  13. Param Vishisht Seva Medal
  14. Ati Vishisht Seva Medal
  15. Vishisht Seva Medal
  16. Parakram Padak
  17. General Sevice Medal
  18. Samanya Seva Medal
  19. Special Service Medal
  20. Samar Seva Star
  21. Poorvi Star
  22. Paschimi Star
  23. Siachen Glacier Medal
  24. Raksha Medal
  25. Sangram Medal
  26. Sainya Seva Medal
  27. High Altitude Seva Medal
  28. Videsh Seva Medal
  29. Meritorious Service Medal
  30. Long Service and Good Conduct Medal
  31. President’s Police Medal for Gallantry
  32. Police Medal for Gallantry



  1. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna
  2. Arjuna Award
  3. Dronacharya Award


Creative Content

  1. Sahitya Akademi Award
  2. Sahitya Akademi Fellowship
  3. Bhasha Samman
  4. Translation Awards
  5. Premchand Fellowship
  6. Anand Coomarswamy Fellowship
  7. Dadasaheb Phalke Award
  8. National Film Award
  9. Sangeet Natak Akademi Award
  10. Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowship
  11. Lalit Kala Akademi Fellowship


Science and Technology

  1. Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology
  2. B.C. Roy Award


Q. Answer these questions by choosing the most appropriate option.

1. In which field is the Sanjay Chopra Award awarded?

a) Bravery
b) Debating
c) Painting
d) Embroidery

2. With which field is the Dhyan Chand Award associated?

a) Meditation
b) Astronomy
c) Dance
d) Sports

3. In which field is the Jnanpith Award awarded?

a) Sculpture
b) Military prowess
c) Literature
d) Theatre

4. Which distinguished award series is Mata Jijabai Award a part of?

a) Vishwakarma Rashtriya Puraskar
b) Stree Shakti Puraskar
c) Rashtriya Veerta Puraskar
d) Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar

5. With which field is the Kalinga Prize associated?

a) Science
b) History
c) Political Science
d) Anthropology



1. a-Bravery

2. d-Sports

3. c-Literature

4. b-Stree Shakti Puraskar

5. a-Science

Leave A Comment

Please enter your name. Please enter an valid email address. Please enter message.